Obligatory Update

Once again so much has happened within the past month of my last post. I feel like winter is officially here as it is 34 F with frost on the ground. Harvesting season is over, however I experienced a last hooray of prep for winter when my host mom and I went over to a neighbor’s house and helped kill 25 chickens. There were about 6 women, including my host mom, who helped kill, pluck, and butcher all of the chickens. I played with the kids while this all happened as my host mom knows I get squeamish. I now fully understand the expression, “running around like a chicken with your head cut off”. It was another experience that gave me deep admiration for the women of Moldova and all the work they do for their families and community.

This past week was a huge milestone for me as it marked three months of service. All of the health education volunteers had in service training (IST) in the capital, Chișinău, for the week. During this time we were able to reconnect with everyone and laugh together about all of our unbelievable experiences. It was heartwarming and reassuring to hear that in many instances we had similar stories with our host families, partner teachers, neighbors, etc. We also learned the steps to start a health campaign at our schools. I worked with my adjunct director and we discussed starting a hand washing campaign with the younger kids. Along with the school nurse, my partner teachers, and the biology teacher, I am optimistic that we can create a campaign that prevents the spread of transmissible diseases in the school and community.

IMG_0696

Last day of IST

In terms of my work in the classroom, before I left for IST my partner teacher and I assigned our students to create posters about how to prevent getting a cold or flu. I came back thoroughly impressed with my students’ work and now their amazing posters are displayed around the school. This week I am also teaching my 5th through 7th grade classes about Thanksgiving (Ziua Mulțumirii). We made cards to give to someone that we are thankful for and we also watched a short clip of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, which the kids were amazed by. There was a part in the clip where a group of clowns walks by and my partner teacher saw it and said, “Wow, traditional American clothing is beautiful”. I had to explain to her that it was just a funny costume. Although I am a bit bummed that I won’t be spending the holidays with my family, I am deeply grateful for my host family and community for including me in all of the festivities here in Moldova.

Leave a comment